The main purpose of this faculty is to train the reliable experts on this field and contribute to the building of chemistry industry and light industry of the nation.

This faculty stemmed from Applied Chemistry sub-discipline which belonged to Faculty of Technology(then) in Juche 36(1947).

There are 2 departments(Department of Analytical Chemistry, Department of Chemical Process Engineering) and 5 institutes(Institute of Inorganic Chemistry, Institute of Organic Chemistry, Institute of Physical Chemistry, Institute of Catalytical Chemistry, Institute of Applied Chemistry).

As sub-disciplines, there are Synthetic Chemistry, Analytical Chemistry, Chemical Processing Engineering, Catalytical Chemistry, C1 Chemistry, Modern Chemistry.

Faculty of Chemistry

The typical subjects are General Chemistry, Inorganic Chemistry, Synthetic Chemistry of Inorganic Materials, Coordination Compound Catalytical Chemistry, Organic Synthetic Chemistry, Polymer Chemistry, Analytical Chemistry, Instrumental Analysis, Electrochemical Analysis, Optical Analysis, Chromatographic Analysis, Electromagnetic Analysis, Physical Chemistry, Catalyst Chemistry and etc.

About 200 lecturers and researchers are working in the faculty including 4 candidate academician and around 50 doctors. Of all, there are some 60 lecturers with academic titles like professor and assistant professor.

About 1 200 students are studying in this faculty.